Before I go into my thoughts on Iris van Herpen, let me preface this by saying that I wasn’t even aware of this Dutch designer until I recently stumbled upon a YouTube video of her Shift Souls collection debuted at Palais des Beaux-Arts in Paris. I’ll link the video of it below.

Captivating

While I think the video speaks for itself and van Herpen’s sheer artistry in droves, I simply don’t have the artistic and linguistic capacity to fully explain the feelings I got from watching the show in a way that would do it justice. It might have been the way the diaphanous layers of carefully plisee-ed organza radiated vibrant purple, oranges and red. It might have been the way the layers upon layers of deliberately constructed fabric were aligned to create a wholly new patterns, with each piece evoking a different feeling as it invites you to pore over every last detail and meticulously planned line. It might have been the sheer sense of volume, the intricate webbing of the 3D printed facial accessories, or the dynamically shifting silhouettes that alternate between each piece shown in the fashion show procession. All I do know, is that this presentation was something very unique, something that constantly creates and breaks the boundaries of fashion as an art form and then some. I definitely encourage anyone who’s even mildly interested in Iris van Herpen and her groundbreaking work, or just any of her inspired pieces, to look up more about the details of her collections and ideas on her website.

Just a glimpse into the intricacies as well as painstaking labor and love that Iris and her team put into Shift Souls

Published by NgouwYS

Writing when it comes to me

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started